The Office of the Town Clerk and Treasurer provides information and quality services to the residents of Wallingford.
Town Clerk and Treasurer: Julie Sharon
Assistant Clerk and Assistant Treasurer: Jill Stone Teer
If you have any other suggestions as to how the office can provide a higher level of service, please give us a call at (802) 446-2336. If you wish any information about our town, please feel free to call or visit us. We’re open Monday – Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. We generally do not close for lunch.
The Town Clerk and Treasurer’s Office provides the following services:
Vehicle Registration Renewals, Voter Registration, Tax Collection, Tax Information, Dog Licensing, Recording official documents, Issue civil marriage licenses, Issue certified copies of vital records, Maintain Town records such as land records, maps, minutes of meetings, etc., Notary Public services (no charge), Transfer Station Punch Cards and Stickers, Hunting & Fishing Licenses, Green Mountain Passports, and the Monthly Wallingford Standard newsletter.
The Town of Wallingford’s Land Records are indexed and scanned from December 1, 2014 forward.
The online system is available by clicking: https://recordhub.cottsystems.com. If you wish to view the index, there is no charge and you can sign up and choose the complimentary subscription. If there is a record that you want to view or print, you must purchase a subscription or come to the Town Clerk’s Office. You should log in first and be sure that the document is in the system before you pay for a subscription.
If you decide to purchase a subscription and you need help when creating an account, you can contact Cott Systems Technical Support at 800-234-2688, first prompt is 8, second prompt is 1.
Copies of Birth and Death Certificates
Only family members, legal guardians, certain court-appointed parties or their legal representatives can apply for a certified copy of a birth or death certificate for $10 each.
Applicants must show valid identification when applying for a certified copy of a birth or death certificate and complete an application. For more details and an application, click here.
The Town of Wallingford accepts Visa, MasterCard and Discover credit/debit card payments for certified copies, property taxes and other fees. Electronic payments are accepted at Town Hall, via telephone, mobile app, or through the PayGov.us portal. (Please note, property taxes must be processed online by 4:30 p.m. on the due date, to avoid any interest or penalty). PayGov.us charges a $1 convenience fee for transactions under $33 and a 3% charge for transactions of $33 or more. There is no cost to the town for this service. For questions, contact PayGov.us at 866-480-8552. To make a payment to the Town of Wallingford via PayGov.us portal, click on the link below:
Download the paygov mobile app and enter Wallingford’s Pay Location Code (PLC) 37307. **If you have a Chase Bank card, you must call Chase and tell them to process the two transactions (the payment amount and Paygov’s fee).**
DO NOT SEND ANY PAYMENTS TO US FOR THE WALLINGFORD FIRE DISTRICT OR ANY OTHER ENTITY. They will be rejected.
Voter’s Guide for People With Disabilities
Disability Rights Vermont has produced “Voter’s Guide for People With Disabilities.” To review the document, click here.
For a quick and easy way to register to vote, access the Vermont Secretary of State website by clicking Online Voter Registration or My Voter Page and follow the simple steps. The Online Voter Registration allows you to register to vote or change the name or address on your voting registration record. The My Voter Page provides the following information: absentee ballot status, mail-in application and ballot status, poll location, elected officials, registration information on file with the Town Office, sample ballot for the upcoming election and more. (My Voter Page provides a web-based search of data extracted from Vermont’s statewide voter registration database. It is NOT the official record of your registration, which is retained by the voter registration office in the Town of your residence.)
Next Year’s Elections:
Town/School Meeting: March 5, 2024
Presidential Primary: March 5, 2024 (you MUST pick a party for this one)
Vermont Primary: August 13, 2024
General Election: November 5, 2024
Tax bills are mailed ONLY once each year for the entire tax year. You will receive a tax bill in late August with one-half payment due in October and the remaining one-half payment due in April. Payments are physically due in the Town Office; postmarked dates will not be accepted. Post-dated checks are not allowed and will not be held. Credit/debit card payments are accepted, but please note payments must be processed online by 4:30 p.m. EST on the due date. To pay by credit/debit card, click on the link above in the Electronic Payments section.
If you purchase a property after April 1st, you will not receive a new bill in your name (or Transfer Station punch cards) until the following tax year mailing. Your attorney should have made you aware of this and all outstanding taxes due are your responsibility. Contact the Town Clerk’s office at (802) 446-2336 if you need a copy of the bill.
The Town of Wallingford will charge a $35 fee for all checks returned for any reason.
FY24 Tax Rates: Town .4158 cents; Local Agreement .0063 cents; Homestead Education $1.6248; Non Residential Education $1.6560; Fire Protection (FD1 & FD3) .0858 cents. Reminder, the state sets the Education tax rates.
Wallingford Fire District #2 (East Wallingford) sends a separate bill annually. FY22 Tax Rate is .0968 cents. Contact Karen Smith at (802) 259-2615 with any questions.
Vermont Homestead Declaration Form HS-122 Section A
Vermont resident homeowners must annually file a Declaration of Homestead on their principal dwelling. Late filing penalties will be applied. For more information on filing deadlines, click Individuals | Department of Taxes (vermont.gov)
Property Tax Credit. In order to file a property tax credit, you must meet eligibility requirements: • Your property qualifies as a homestead, and you have filed a Homestead Declaration • You were domiciled in Vermont for the full prior calendar year • You were not claimed as a dependent of another taxpayer • You own the property as your principal residence on April 1 of the calendar year. For more information, visit Individuals | Department of Taxes (vermont.gov)
Documents you will need to file: Latest property tax bill income information for you, your spouse/civil union partner, and all other members of the households such as W-2, 1099, SSA-1099, SSA-1042S, RRB-1099, RRB-1045, business income information Homestead Declaration Assistance Tel: 866-828-2865 (toll-free in VT) or (802) 828-2865 (local & out-of-state) Fax: (802) 828-2720.
Dog licensing is an annual event. Dogs more than six months of age may be licensed any time after January 1st of a calendar year, but must be licensed no later than April 1st of the same year in order to avoid the additional fee assessment. If a dog reaches 6 months of age after April 1st, the owner must apply for a license within 30 days.
All dogs must have a current rabies vaccination. All dogs over three months of age shall be vaccinated against rabies. The initial vaccination shall be valid for 12 months. Within 9 to 12 months of the initial vaccination, the animal must receive a booster vaccination. All subsequent vaccinations following the initial vaccination shall be valid for 36 months.
Dog Licensing Fees:
|By April 1
|Neutered/Spayed Unneutered/Not Spayed
|After April 1
|Neutered/Spayed Unneutered/Not Spayed
We have a leash law that states that a person shall not allow a dog to run at large except upon the property of the owner.
Remember to license, leash and love your pet!
Marriage Licenses. Effective 7/1/23, licenses can now be issued by any town clerk, regardless of where either party resides. The license costs $90 (includes one certified copy) and is valid for 60 days from the date it is issued. Act 8 (H.148) passed by the Legislature amends 18 V.S.A. 5142 to raise the age to marry from 16 to 18 effective 7/1/23. During that time period, an authorized person must perform your wedding ceremony — otherwise, the license is void.
Besides basic information about yourselves (names, towns of residence, places and dates of birth), you must also provide your parents’ names, including your mothers’ birth (maiden) names, and their places of birth. Vermont law requires that at least one of you sign the license in the presence of the town clerk, certifying that all the information you provided is correct. Both applicants must sign the application form: Civil Marriage Application.
Vehicle Registration Renewals:
Wallingford is one of several towns in the state that offers this service. We can renew the current registration plus two prior months; anything older than that would have to be done directly through the DMV. You will need the renewal form the DMV sends you along with a check or money order made out to VT DMV for the renewal amount. We forward these weekly to the DMV, therefore, we can’t accept cash. There is also a $3.00 fee to the town, which can be either check or cash, but needs to be separate from the renewal fee.
Green Mountain Passports. The Green Mountain Passport Program was started in 1973 by enactment of the Vermont General Assembly. To be eligible for a passport, you must be: a resident of Vermont and 62 years old or older, or a Veteran of the uniformed services – provide form DD214 or see indication on driver’s license (after 7/1/13). The card covers day use to Vermont state parks, free admission for one day at the Vermont State Fair, and admission to Vermont Historic sites. Apply for a passport at the Town Clerk’s office for $2.00. Questions, call (802) 241-2401.
Recording Official Documents. Recording fees are $15 per page for all documents recorded. Make checks payable to the Town of Wallingford. Certified copies are $10 per page. All deeds conveying property (even if no money is exchanged) must have a Vermont Property Transfer Tax Return. There is a $15 filing fee for this form. Contact the Vermont State Tax Department for information on this form: (802) 828-2542. UCC filings – $35. Posted Land Recording – $5. Survey Plat Maps – $25. Vermont records all Land Records by Town or City. There is no county recording system in Vermont.
Zoning. Wallingford last adopted zoning regulations in August, 2015 along with a revised Zoning Permit Fee Schedule. For more information, click here. The Zoning Administrator can be reached at (802) 446-2974.
Trash. The Transfer Station is a service provided to property owners and renters. The Transfer Station is located on Waldo Lane, just west of the bridge on Route 140W. The Transfer Station is open Mondays & Wednesdays Noon –5:00 p.m. and Saturdays 8:00 a.m.–Noon. All garbage must be in bags and the transfer station attendant will punch a hole in your punch card for each bag. Annually, property owners receive a packet containing one 50-hole and one 20-hole punch card with their tax bills. Residents may purchase additional cards at either the Town Hall or Transfer Station. The 20-hole punch card is $20; the 50-hole punch card is $50. Each vehicle accessing the facility must display a municipal sticker, which are available at the Transfer Station or Town Hall for $3 each. The Transfer Station can be reached at (802) 446-2524.
There are varying fees for scrap metal, furniture, tires, yard waste and other materials. We host household hazardous waste days two times a year. Zero Sort and e-waste recycling is free. Returnable bottle and can donations are accepted on behalf of local groups.
Passports: Get your forms and questions answered here: https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/passports.html