## Wallingford Board of Abatement Minutes June 7, 2023

Board Members Present: Justice of the Peace & Selectboard member Kathy Luzader, Vice Chair, Maureen Duchesne, Sandy Eddy, Kate Goetz, Tony Petrossi, Stanley Seward, Curtis Lidstone, Gary Fredette, Nan Dubin, and Ken Welch; Selectboard member Bruce Duchesne, Carolyn Behrendt, and Mark Tessier, and Town Clerk & Treasurer Julie Sharon

Others Present: Pat Bowen and Greg McCormack (PEG TV)

Board Members Absent: Wendy Savery and Justin Jankus

Vice Chair K. Luzader called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

No additions or deletions were made to the agenda.

B. Duchesne moved to approve the minutes of May 3, 2023 and was seconded by G. Fredette. The minutes were approved. Motion passed.

James Vartanian, #0380173, Span #681-216-10825; no statutory criteria was given.

The Board reviewed Mr. Vartanian's email (attached). His tax payment was received in the mail, a day late on April 18, 2023. B. Duchesne made a motion to deny the request to abate \$222.53 as the payment was received after its due date. Motion seconded by M. Duchesne. N. Dubin pointed out his statement that this is the third time this year that payments he has mailed to the Town or other vendors arrived late or not at all and asked if we could split the difference with Mr. Vartanian. B. Duchesne said that the tax bill states that taxes unpaid after the due date are delinquent and that postmarks are not accepted. The Motion carried (13-0). K. Luzader abstained.

Brian & Melanie Myers Moll, #0190544, Span #681-216-10842; 24 V.S.A. §1535(a)(3) taxes or charges of persons who are unable to pay their taxes, charges, interest and/or collection fees.

Since the last meeting, the Town received payment in full for the Molls delinquent taxes from the Vermont Housing Finance Agency. Based on this update, B. Duchesne made a motion to deny the request. Motion seconded by C. Behrendt. The motion carried (13-0). K. Luzader abstained.

The meeting adjourned at 6:39 p.m. on a motion made by T. Petrossi and seconded by K. Goetz. The motion passed unanimously.

Julie M. Sharon, Town Clerk