## Wallingford Board of Abatement Minutes May 3, 2023

Board Members Present: Justice of the Peace & Selectboard member Kathy Luzader, Vice Chair, Maureen Duchesne, Sandy Eddy, Kate Goetz (audio), Tony Petrossi, Stanley Seward, Curtis Lidstone, Gary Fredette, and Nan Dubin; Selectboard member Bruce Duchesne, Mark Tessier, Justin Jankus and Carolyn Behrendt, and Town Clerk & Treasurer Julie Sharon

Others Present: Pat Bowen, Brian Moll, Tom Barone, and Greg McCormack (PEG TV)

Board Members Absent: Wendy Savery and Ken Welch

Vice Chair K. Luzader called the meeting to order at 8:19 p.m.

No additions or deletions were made to the agenda.

B. Duchesne moved to approve the minutes of February 15, 2023 and was seconded by M. Duchesne. G. Fredette said that his name is missing in the meeting minutes. The minutes were approved as amended with eleven in favor. C. Lidstone, J. Jankus and C. Behrendt abstained. Motion passed.

Brian & Melanie Myers Moll, #0190544, Span #681-216-10842; 24 V.S.A. §1535(a)(3) taxes or charges of persons who are unable to pay their taxes, charges, interest and/or collection fees.

The hearing opened at 8:21 p.m. Mr. Moll stated that he has always paid his taxes on time; however, because of his recent health issues resulting in surgery, along with the cash that he had withdrawn from the bank to pay his taxes was stolen from his car while at Hannaford, he had no other option but to make this request. He and his wife are raising six children, and he recently changed jobs. Vice Chair Luzader asked for proof of the bank withdrawal, and Mr. Moll said he would send a screenshot to J. Sharon. The hearing closed at 8:30 p.m. and the public left. The Board promptly went into deliberative session and came out at 8:50 p.m.

T. Petrossi made a motion to table a decision, seconded by N. Dubin, until further documentation is sought from Mr. Moll. Motion passed unanimously. The Board hopes to meet again within 30 days. The meeting adjourned at 8:55 p.m. on a motion made by T. Petrossi and seconded by J. Jankus. The motion passed unanimously.

Julie M. Sharon, Town Clerk