Wallingford Board of Civil Authority Minutes July 29, 2020

Board Members Present: Justice of the Peace: Lynn Edmunds, Ann Buffum, Sandy Eddy, Tom Truex, Gary Fredette, and Sue Thayer; Selectboard members Nelson Tift, Rose Regula, Bruce Duchesne, Pat Pranger, and John McClallen, and Town Clerk & Treasurer Julie Sharon

Julie Sharon called the meeting to order at 7:05 p.m.

There were no additions or deletions to the agenda.

- J. Sharon called for nominations for Chair. A. Buffum nominated G. Fredette as Chair; G. Fredette declined. T. Truex nominated N. Tift as Chair; N. Tift declined. T. Truex nominated L. Edmunds as Chair; L. Edmunds declined. A. Buffum nominated S. Eddy and S. Thayer seconded the motion. There were no other nominations. Motion carried (11-0). S. Eddy abstained.
- S. Eddy called for nominations for Vice Chair. S. Eddy nominated T. Truex and L. Edmunds seconded the motion. There were no other nominations. Motion carried (11-0). T. Truex abstained.

The minutes of the August 15, 2019 meeting were approved on a motion made by R. Regula and seconded by T. Truex. Motion carried (9-0). S. Thayer, P. Pranger and J. McClallen abstained.

- J. Sharon reported that since the agenda was written, the legislature granted the Secretary of State authority to allow the towns to start processing our ballots into the tabulator during the 30 days preceding the primary and general election. Therefore, the Board does not need to vote on the directive under Title 17 V.S.A. §2546a that allows the BCA to open and process early/absentee ballots through the voter tabulator the day prior to the election. J. Sharon asked for two election officials from different parties to conduct this process on Monday, August 10th starting at 1:30 p.m. Ann Buffum and Lynn Edmunds volunteered to process the ballots.
- T. Truex made a motion to adjourn the meeting and J. McClallen seconded the motion. Motion carried (12-0). The meeting adjourned at 7.11 p.m.

Julie M. Sharon, Town Clerk